Champions Crowned at Nike Cross Nationals in Portland

December 7, 2008

(12-6-08) From Press Release – Nike today announced the winners of the Nike Cross Nationals (NXN), a competition crowning the fastest high school-aged cross country club teams and individuals in the United States.

Manlius XC Club from Manlius, New York, captured this year’s girls’ club team crown for a third time. The North Spokane XC Club from Spokane, Washington, took home the boys club team championship honors. Chelsey Sveinsson from Addison, Texas won the individual girl’s title with a course record time of 17:26.9. Reed Connor from The Woodlands, Texas won the boy’s title with a time of 15:13.6.

“This year Nike Cross Nationals added an individual championship to the event, making it a race experience unlike any other for youth cross country runners,” said Amy White, Nike’s vice president of U.S. Running. “We were founded by runners and it’s a sport that is part of our DNA.”

Individuals along with club teams competed at regional qualifying events across the country throughout November in the lead up to the Nike Cross Nationals championship to determine the country’s top individual and club teams in the sport.

People across the country were able to tune in to the live webcast of the championship held at Portland Meadows in Portland, Oregon. The webcast, which is available on, features 2000 Olympian Adam Goucher with running broadcasters Toni Reavis and Rich Gonzalez in the booth, and five-time NCAA champion Chris Solinsky and 2008 Olympian Kara Goucher on the ground.

Nike elite athletes also represented teams from each region, providing support and insight throughout the weekend. 2008 Olympian Kara Goucher (Northwest), 2008 Olympian Abdi Abdirahman (Southwest), 2008 Olympian Matt Tegenkamp (Heartland), 2008 Olympian Dathan Ritzenhein (Midwest), 2008 Olympian Shalane Flanagan (Northeast), 2004 Olympian Alan Webb (Southeast), 2000 Olympian Adam Goucher (South), 2008 Olympian Bernard Lagat (New York) and 2008 Olympian Shannon Rowbury (California) all served as captains.

For more complete results and to view the webcast, visit